ILS Self-Help logo
HomeHome Most Helpful TopicsMost Helpful Topics
RSS Feeds
DrillDown Icon Contents
DrillDown Icon Self-Help Home
DrillDown Icon Menu
DrillDown Icon Online Resources
DrillDown Icon Library and IT Gateway
DrillDown Icon IT Services
DrillDown Icon Printing (Multi-functional devices)
DrillDown Icon Student IT Pocket Guide links
DrillDown Icon Mapping the PUPSMD 'R' drive to your computer
DrillDown Icon Re-imaging a computer or laptop
DrillDown Icon Mobile computing
DrillDown Icon Canon Printer Consumables Requests for University Staff
DrillDown Icon Out of Hours Computing exam support
DrillDown Icon Apple Support
DrillDown Icon Staff Mac fleet
DrillDown Icon PlymMac 7
DrillDown Icon Windows 7 Service
DrillDown Icon Accounts
DrillDown Icon Visitor Computing Accounts
DrillDown Icon Discretionary Computing Accounts
DrillDown Icon Account Problems
DrillDown Icon Changing or Forgotten your password
DrillDown Icon Final Year Disablement
DrillDown Icon Staff Leavers: account disablement and removal
DrillDown Icon Getting an account (Staff)
DrillDown Icon Strong Password
DrillDown Icon Applications
DrillDown Icon Hardware
DrillDown Icon IT Training & Documentation
DrillDown Icon Telephony
DrillDown Icon Web
DrillDown Icon PC Finder Tool
DrillDown Icon Media
DrillDown Icon Library & IT Help and Support/Contacts
DrillDown Icon TIS Feedback process
DrillDown Icon About TIS
DrillDown Icon IT Service Catalogue
  EMail This ArticlePrint PreviewPrint Preview Current Article/Category with all Sub-Articles/Sub-Categories
 
Staff Leavers: account disablement and removal

Staff leavers: IT accounts

A list of leavers is supplied by HR each week; accounts are normally disabled from log-in midweek following the leaving date.  Once the account is disabled, all associated groups and job details are removed.

The account is held as disabled for 3 months to enable the user to apply an out-of-office message indicating that they no longer work for Plymouth University.  Also, this enables quick reactivation if needed.

External email can be redirected for 3 months whilst the account is disabled; this is offered by HR in the leaver’s letter.
After 3 months, the account may be removed and data deleted.  Details are kept internally in case of audit.

Discretionary accounts may be applicable to leavers with an on-going role affiliated to the university; see the adjacent article for details.
 
Modified 06/09/2016
Author: Burrell, Stephanie